The Spontaneous Cook: Garaeddeok or Korean Rice Cake

26 Apr

So  I am a very spontaneous cook. If I see something on a cooking show or find a cool recipe on the internet and I realize that I have all the ingredients to make it; nine times out of ten I will be in the kitchen making it. It doesn’t matter what cuisine it is from or how involved the recipe is I will be in the kitchen making a mess. Oh yes I also haven’t mastered the “cooking clean” thing but that is another story. I love korean food (South Koreans not the ones who want to destroy us :p) so I decided I was going to tackle homemade Garaeddeok so I can make Ddeokbokki (like a rice cake stew). This became pretty involved rather quickly because where I live I have no international stores or markets. So I hunted down on the almighty YouTube a korean cooking superstar…Maangchi! I quickly fell in love with her channel and found all the necessary recipes I needed to make all of my Ddeokbokki dreams come true. So I actually started this project the night before by soaking my sushi rice to make rice flour the next day. Then in the morning I blended my rice to a flour by using my food processor and began making the rice cakes. For my fist time it came out really well. I don’t have all of the ingredients to make the ddeokbokki yet but that will be coming very very soon. So till then happy cooking—-CMY

Garaeddeok copy

Maangchi’s Garaeddeok Recipe Vid: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oMz4t12DIGQ

Maangchi’s Short Grain Rice Flour Recipe: http://www.maangchi.com/recipe/mepssalgaru

Maangchi’s Ddeokbokki Recipe Vid: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TA3Uo3a9674

Leave a Reply

