Image

Happy Birthday to my Mom!!!

23 Aug

Happy Birthday to my Mom!!!

Today is my mom Debra’s 54th birthday…I know, she looks great for her age and she is a pretty remarkable woman. She was born and raised in the Bronx and is 100% Puerto Rican (Making me and my sisters 1/2 PR and 1/2 Greek) and is a little spit fire. Strong emphasis on the little she is only 4′ 11″ ( I’m 5′ 3″ thanks mom, haha). She came from a life of poverty and physical abuse thanks to a horrible stepfather and she was able to overcome it all. She was one of the few of her six siblings to attend and graduate college and become a business manager. She managed a very successful bakery in Brooklyn where I pretty much grew up. I have very fond memories of those years in the bakery. My mother is currently a first degree black belt in the Korean Martial Art of Tang Soo Do. She now is also an instructor at the martial arts school she earned her belts in. This year she even attended the World Tournament of the Tang Soo Do Association in North Carolina and walked away with a bronze medal in weapons. She is truly an inspiration to me and keeps me looking forward to all that I can accomplish in the coming years. I LOVE YOU MOM AND HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!!

Leave a Reply

