Image

What I’m Reading: Ouran HighSchool Host Club Book 1

22 Jul

What I'm Reading: Ouran HighSchool Host Club Book 1

This Manga series is a romantic comedy about a girl named Haruhi who on scholarship gets into the mega rich school of Ouran Academy. Upon wandering throught the halls for a quiet place to study, Haruhi wanders into Music Room 3; where she finds an extremely handsom group of young men that make up the Host Club. These young men make a little money on the side by going on dates specifically taylored to the female clients that visit the club. Haruhi gets so startled by the site of these boys that she breaks an $80,000 vase that was to be put up for auction by the club.(Oh and did I mention they first thought that she was a boy because she couldn’t afford a uniform and wore her father’s clothes? I didn’t? Well now you know! Haha.) So in order to payback the debt to the Host Club Haruhi must mascarade as a boy and become a Host. I was originally introduced to this series created by Bisco Hatori as an anime by my sister. (Thanks Michelle! xoxoxo) It was really hilarious and I quickly fell in love with all of the characters. You, like Haruhi are thrust into these whirlwind adventures with the upper crust of society. So when my birthday came around I knew what I wanted. I started to collect the mangas for double the Ouran fun. If you love light hearted hilarity, charming characters, and some extravagant living do yourself a favor; watch the anime and read the mangas. You won’t be sorry :)—-CMY

Other great manga/anime Black Butler (Dramatic with some comedic elements) Death Note (More dramatic with some comedic elements). Both excellent!

12 Responses to “What I’m Reading: Ouran HighSchool Host Club Book 1”

  1. sprezzatura July 22, 2012 at 7:42 pm #

    On the HOST CLUB…Are the books intended for younger readers?
    I am very interested in the series…how many in the series?

    • Christina @ Salt Pepper Brilliant July 22, 2012 at 7:47 pm #

      It is not intended for younger readers. Adolescents would find it fun. I am 23 and love the humor and the true love that Tamaki (the blond and King of the Host Club on the cover) begins to develope for Haruhi (also on the cover). There are some adult themes as well. There are 18 Volumes for the manga and they all are between $8-$10. You can find them on amazon.com in english but are read from right to left in Japanese style. Hope this helps! Thanks for stopping by 🙂

      • sprezzatura July 22, 2012 at 7:51 pm #

        Thank you. I think I will jump in and read them. Hopefully I can get them in a local bookstore here in Houston, Texas.

      • Christina @ Salt Pepper Brilliant July 22, 2012 at 7:52 pm #

        I’m glad you are giving the series a try. It is an easy and fun read. Enjoy!

  2. modgnikym July 29, 2012 at 5:08 am #

    The box set of the series is coming out in a couple of months… if you can’t purchase them in store, rightstuf.com will sell them to you. Free shipping $50+ (which is the first 6-ish volumes.)

    I would also reccomend this series. I’ve been holding back on purchasing them, but that soon to be released box set sure is tempting….

    • Christina @ Salt Pepper Brilliant July 29, 2012 at 3:38 pm #

      Sounds cool. I just purchase a few at a time from amazon.com when I begin to feel the need, haha. They aren’t expensive and on amazon with every order of $25 or more you get free super saver shipping (if the all of your items you order are eligible for it) All of the manga I buy qualify so it really is a good deal. Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to comment 🙂

  3. thebestcaramelslice July 29, 2012 at 10:49 am #

    That sounds quite good. I like reading various manga. I’m currently reading Battle Royale, which is much different from my favourite manga, Jing King Of Bandits. Have you read either of them?
    How many books are there in Host Club? There are sooo many in Battle Royale, it’s slightly off putting.
    🙂

    • Christina @ Salt Pepper Brilliant July 29, 2012 at 3:32 pm #

      No I haven’t read any of those that you mentioned but I will definitely look into them. I am always looking for new manga. There are 18 volumes to the Host club, and they go by really quickly. So its not too imposing haha. Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to comment 😀

      • silentxthoughts July 30, 2012 at 6:00 am #

        Nice I didn’t read the host club but I did watch the anime… I’m in the middle of way to many shows. 😛 So I try to keep the manga I read to a minimum, have you read D. Gray-man?

      • Christina @ Salt Pepper Brilliant July 31, 2012 at 2:03 pm #

        I am watching the anime as well and both are pretty great. No I haven’t read Gray-man but I’ll check it out.

      • silentxthoughts August 6, 2012 at 7:09 pm #

        Awesome! Isn’t the anime great. XD

      • Christina @ Salt Pepper Brilliant August 12, 2012 at 1:46 am #

        Yea it really is 🙂

Leave a Reply

