Review of The Good Dream by Donna VanLiere

24 Apr

The Good DreamThe Good Dream by Donna VanLiere

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I won this Advanced Readers Edition of The Good Dream by Donna VanLiere from Goodreads and I am so glad I did. I am familiar with the author but I have never read one of her books. So this is another book I dove into blind folded. Our story takes place in Tennessee during the year 1950 when we meet the strong willed Ivorie Walker. The only girl (and youngest) of six children Ivorie is considered the old maid of this small southern town because she has yet to marry. She is having trouble adapting to life after the death of both of her elderly parents that in life she took care of. Until one day she finds a feral boy stealing from her garden. He is a young boy who lives up in the hills with one of the most evil characters I have ever had the displeasure to read about. This young boy suffers massive amounts of abuse at the hand of this man on a daily basis. The boy finally gets rescued by Ivorie and she takes him in as her own even if the people of her town don’t agree with her decision. The book is set up in character driven chapters. Ivorie and the Boy have chapters dedictated to them where we can see life through their point of view. I enjoyed this especially when the same situtation is being told through two different point of views. Eventually Ivorie’s brother Henry gets his own chapters. At first it through me off because you question why he would need one; but it soon becomes clear he is essential to the story. The inclusion of Henry made the story more real for me. It was definitely a good move on Donna VanLiere’s part. Donna has an excellent richly descriptive writing style. I can only describe it as being a cake with multilayers. Every layer of this cake has a different flavor and you run your fork straight throught all of these complex layers. Alone they are incredible but together you are bombarded by every good flavor you have ever encountered in your life; and all you see is fireworks shooting off in your head. It was a pleasure reading this book from the very first page. When I reached the last page of this book I stared at the blank back cover hoping she had written in invisible ink because I wanted more. Just when Ivorie and the Boy have reached their first milestone the book ends. There is so much more that Donna can write for this story. I do hope she sees that and writes a second book and third to create a rich series based on humanity’s ability to be cruel and kind. I loved this book and at the end it passed the cradle test. I only hug books of great importance close to my heart and this made me never want to let it go. The Good Dream is one of the best reads I have ever had and has bumped Wife 22 off the top spot for my book of 2012. Get your hands on The Good Dream when it is for sale July of this year. You will not be sorry.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

