Image

Creature of the Deep and It’s for Dinner!

19 Apr

Creature of the Deep and It's for Dinner!

Hey everybody I haven’t written in a while because I have been super busy and then my super busy got me sick so I had to take some time off to regroup. Summer is on its way and one thing is on my mind being a Greek. Grilled Octopus…yum!!! I love octopus in all of its tentacle filled glory. It can be hard to prepare though if it is your first time. You can wind up chewing on something as tough as a car tire. So this is how I prepare my octopus for a night of yummy eating.
Step 1: If your octopus (2lb-4lb) has not been cleaned, which I doubt your fishmonger hasn’t cleaned it. But just in case cut out the beak yes the beak on the bottom of the animal in the center of all of those tentacles. Then cut a vertical slit in the head and remove the organs. Most likely though your octopus would already be well cleaned.
Step 2: Fill a large pot with water and some sea salt. Bring it to a rolling boil. A rolling boil is a boil that does not stop when you stir it with a spoon. Add your cephalopod whole and bring the water back to a boil if it has weakened. Boil the octopus for 10 minutes. Strain the octopus out and rinse under cold water removing the gelatinous skin that will be in between the tentacles. Cut the legs away for the head and body. Set them aside and then cut the head into rings and the thick body into strips.
Step 3: Get a heavy jar or a mallet and some plastic wrap. Here comes the therapy portion of this recipe, haha. Place a piece of your octopus on a cutting borad and cover with plastic wrap or wax paper and hammer away. This is how you will tenterize those tough as leather pieces. It can get messy so cover the piece well. Tenderize the piece till it is almost flat. It will puff up during cooking.
Step 4: Now you can season your octopus anyway you want and either grill or fry it. Since it has already been partially cooked it will take only minutes to cook through. For frying I create a marinade out of lemon juice, olive oil, salt, pepper, and dried oregano. Toss your octopus in this marinade and then lightly bred in flour. Fry the peices on medium heat until golden brown. Serve hot with extra lemon juice and some Retsina. Cheers!

12 Responses to “Creature of the Deep and It’s for Dinner!”

  1. Wulfie April 19, 2012 at 1:18 pm #

    Glad you’re feeling better.

    Octopus…um…for the record? Sometimes you scare me. 😛

  2. Amy April 19, 2012 at 1:48 pm #

    Wow! That’s impressive. Octopus sort of freaks me out, but I bet it’s really yum fried with some lemon juice.

    Thanks for stopping by my blog and commenting. 🙂

  3. richardmcgary April 19, 2012 at 5:28 pm #

    I love octopus but have never seen it tenderized in this fashion. We typically slow roast it then grill it. Perfect every time. Love pulpo ceviche, too.

  4. thingsmybellylikes April 19, 2012 at 7:34 pm #

    Oh lord, I’ve never even considered hacking up an octopus – I love those things – they’re v intelligent!

    I recognise that that’s totally and completely hypocritical though since I love calamari and most other molluscs. Also I’m happy enough to eat other meat.

    I’m very impressed at your culinary skills but also curious – where does one buy a fresh octopus???

    • Christina @ Salt Pepper Brilliant April 19, 2012 at 8:13 pm #

      I love Octopus very much as well. They are delicious as food but I am also fascinated by their intelligence and beauty. In my culture (Greek) the Octopus is a treasured animal. I buy my Octopus frozen from fish markets whenever they are available. They are rare to find where I live so when I see they are being sold I snag a few. They stay fine in the freezer. I let them thaw out in room temp water and wait for the legs to untangle then I begin to prepare them. Thanks for the compliment 🙂

  5. carlaobp June 16, 2012 at 5:55 pm #

    nice pick!

  6. thewednesdayblues June 21, 2012 at 9:52 pm #

    Yummy! And extra credit to you for handling them from scratch! Also, thanks for visiting!

Leave a Reply

