Pita Pizza:Quick, Easy, and Delicious!

13 Mar

       Pitas were always a huge part of my life. They can be eaten alone, seasoned, with chicken, or my favorite souvlaki (Greek shish kebob). Growing up as a kid when I was in the mood for pizza I would also turn to the pita.  I would make a simple homemade sauce, top the pita with some shredded Greek cheese, pop it in the oven, and there was dinner! It soon became a go to quick dinner for my whole family, and it still is to this day.

Pita Pizza

5 pitas

4 cups shredded cheese (Kasseri, Kefalograviera, Mozzarella, etc.)

Tomato Sauce

1-8oz can of tomato sauce

Garlic Powder

Dried Oregano

Red Pepper Flakes

Salt/Pepper

Olive Oil

Make the sauce ahead of time to let the flavors develop. Pour the tomato sauce into a bowl, add a drizzle of olive oil, and then your seasonings. Now I did not add measurements for the seasoning because it is going to be dictated by your tastes. So this is your opportunity to play around with flavors. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees.

Shred your cheese and set it aside. When your oven has preheated build your pizzas. Add the amount of sauce desired to your pita, top with cheese, and if you have toppings add those. My sisters like pepperoni while my dad loves anchovies. Put your finished pitas into the oven and bake for about 10 minutes. The cheese will be melted and slightly brown. If I’m going to have a quick dinner this is it. Enjoy!

 

 

 

20 Responses to “Pita Pizza:Quick, Easy, and Delicious!”

  1. Bonnie Michelle March 13, 2012 at 1:03 pm #

    Quick and easy yum!

  2. ecochic87 March 13, 2012 at 1:13 pm #

    This was my go to supper as an undergrad! Pitas, whatever sandwich meat I had on hand, cheese, peppers or spinach and hot sauce.

  3. mrkittylovesyou March 13, 2012 at 1:14 pm #

    yummy that looks good!! could you check out my blog

  4. the Jilb March 13, 2012 at 1:32 pm #

    Definitely so easy, and so good! 🙂

  5. denlyn3 March 13, 2012 at 11:32 pm #

    Perfect for a Friday meal, easy and taste.

  6. welovetoshoot March 14, 2012 at 1:49 pm #

    Ahh such a great idea to use pita as the base!

  7. Purely.. Kay March 14, 2012 at 7:54 pm #

    I love a quick and easy recipe.. and this one seems like something I would make. I love the recipe. Thanks for sharing this with us

  8. Spiral Dreamer (Francis) March 15, 2012 at 12:04 am #

    Seems to be really good and easy to prepare. will try it very soon. Thanks for sharing 🙂

  9. Yael March 15, 2012 at 4:46 pm #

    I love that picture, it’s so beautiful. The recipe looks GREAT! Check out my blog sometime 🙂

  10. ....RaeDi March 25, 2012 at 10:10 pm #

    This looks delicious and so easy! Will have to try!

Leave a Reply

