Organic Mint Lip Balm Recipe

5 Mar

       A few posts ago I told of how winter is super brutal on my skin. I also introduced you to some sites that have organic skincare products. After that post I discovered an even better site, Mountain Rose Herbs. I wanted to be able to create as many skincare products using only organic products and MRH helped me achieve this. Every product on their site is also cheaper than the other sites so this is a definite plus. When my orders arrived I couldn’t wait to get to experimenting. One of my first recipes was for mint lip balm. Doesn’t that sound good? Well here is the recipe!

Mint Lip Balm

½ oz Beeswax

1 tablespoon Organic Cocoa Butter

1 tablespoon Organic Shea Butter

1 tablespoon Macadamia Nut Oil

½ teaspoon Organic Pumpkin Seed Oil

¼ teaspoon Organic Peppermint Essential Oil

       In a double boiler set on medium heat add your chopped beeswax. Let the beeswax melt while you prepare the rest of the ingredients. Next add both of your butters stir the mixture well and let melt. Once the wax and the butters have melted remove the bowl from the heat. Add the oils and stir well to blend. Now comes the tricky part filling the lip balm tubes. I take a flimsy plastic cutting board and use double sided tape at the bottom of each tube to hold them upright. Use a standard tablespoon not a measuring tablespoon to scoop up some of the liquid lip balm. Quickly but steadily fill the tubes by tilting the tablespoon sideways it is much more precise for filling the tubes. Don’t worry if any spills over the side you can always scrape it off and reheat it. The mixture will turn to a solid as you are filling it don’t worry you can always reheat it. Don’t waste any of this stuff scrape and melt every last bit of it.

TIP: You will have some of the last bit of this mix solidified on your spoon. What do you do? Hold your metal spoon over your burner when the heat is on low and watch the mixture melt. Make sure before you do this that there is no mixture on the bottom of the spoon. If there is scrape it off and add it to the bowl of the spoon.

******This recipe makes six sticks and one 2 oz tin. Enjoy this minty super moisturizing lip balm!******

Beeswax:

http://www.mountainroseherbs.com/wax/wax.html

1 oz Bar of Beeswax

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Butters:

http://www.mountainroseherbs.com/butter/butter.html

16 oz of Organic Shea Butter

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

16 oz Organic Cocoa Butter

 

  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Carrier Oils:

http://www.mountainroseherbs.com/bulkoil/m-r.html

8oz-8.5oz each of Organic Macadamia Nut Oil and Organic Pumpkin Seed Oil

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Essential Oil:

http://www.mountainroseherbs.com/aroma/m-p.html

.5 fl oz Organic Peppermint Essential Oil

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Lip Balm Tubes:

http://www.mountainroseherbs.com/supply/misc.html

Clear lip balm tubes .15 oz each

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Tins:

http://www.mountainroseherbs.com/supply/tins.html

2oz Tin filled with Mint Lip Balm

 

 

 

 

 

 

      

 

         Mountain Rose Herbs is an amazing company. I have ordered twice from them so far this year and both times my items have arrived in perfect condition; even when I ordered glass jars. They have excellent customer service and a huge product selection. I can’t wait to order from them again. My family can’t wait either since they get to try everything I make, haha. So explore their site when you can; I know you will definitely find something to your liking.—-CMY

 

 

28 Responses to “Organic Mint Lip Balm Recipe”

  1. smileysoyabean March 5, 2012 at 3:25 pm #

    This sounds brilliant! I always try to use natural cosmetics and I’d love to have a go at making some of my own – this encourages me to have a go 🙂

    • Christina @ Salt Pepper Brilliant March 5, 2012 at 3:29 pm #

      Definitely give it a try! I have wanted to make my own products for years. So when I discovered Mountain Rose Herbs I jumped at my chance. It is a lot simpler to make than what you originally might have thought. I’m happy you liked my post and thank you for stopping by 😀

  2. Wulfie March 5, 2012 at 4:37 pm #

    Love this! Thanks!

  3. sgbakegirl March 5, 2012 at 4:43 pm #

    great post. home-made organic lip balm…that’s awesome! might have to try it out…

  4. Jenny March 5, 2012 at 9:23 pm #

    I can almost smell how amazing that is through my computer screen it sounds so good 😉

    I try and use primarily natural products too so this is right up my alley! I always assumed making it myself would be too messy and time consuming but this sounds like a little bit of effort for a supply that will last aaages.

    Thanks for stopping by my blog 🙂

    • Christina @ Salt Pepper Brilliant March 5, 2012 at 9:39 pm #

      Thanks for the kind words! It is a little messy in the beginning but it is so worth it and you will get better with practice. Your very welcome and thanks for doing the same 😀

  5. darla March 5, 2012 at 9:59 pm #

    i love this idea! these would make great stocking stuffers and gift wrap extras for the holidays!

  6. ibrokemyumbrella March 7, 2012 at 2:07 pm #

    I never knew you could make your own lip balm. That’s brilliant

    • Christina @ Salt Pepper Brilliant March 7, 2012 at 3:41 pm #

      Yup you can! I also make my own body butter, body scrubs, hair masks, body oil blends, and acne treatment sticks. Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to comment 😀

  7. girlinafoodfrenzy March 8, 2012 at 2:12 pm #

    Gorgeous! This lip balm recipe sounds Devine 🙂 unfortunately I’ve never made my own cosmetics, cupcakes yes, cosmetics no! I’ll bet the effort is totally worh it tho!

    • Christina @ Salt Pepper Brilliant March 8, 2012 at 2:37 pm #

      It is worth and it is really easy! I had never made any cosmetics before but some reasearch and a little bit of a mess later and bam lip balm, haha. I have made two batches so far and I love it. Thanks for stopping by 😀

      • girlinafoodfrenzy March 8, 2012 at 2:42 pm #

        well you obviously have the knack for it. I saw all those lip balm tubes lined up in your pic. I’d still be trying to scrape into one tube whereas you’d have all of them done in a flash !

      • Christina @ Salt Pepper Brilliant March 8, 2012 at 3:26 pm #

        Hahaha not really I was still scraping and melting and scraping and melting 😉

  8. Alexandra Bengtsson March 8, 2012 at 4:25 pm #

    What a great idea! Honestly, I never thought I would even think about making my own lip balm, but now I can’t wait to buy the stuff needed.. Inspiring!!

    • Christina @ Salt Pepper Brilliant March 8, 2012 at 4:28 pm #

      Thanks I’m glad you enjoyed my post and that it inspired you to bring some more lip balms into the world, haha 😀 Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to comment 🙂

  9. Kimbercrafts March 10, 2012 at 3:03 am #

    I’ve always wanted to try my hand at creating homemade lip balm – thanks for the tips!

  10. soanthro March 10, 2012 at 4:22 pm #

    Oh wow, this sounds amazing!! I get the worst chapped lips all year round, and I’m always looking for new remedies!

    • Christina @ Salt Pepper Brilliant March 10, 2012 at 6:38 pm #

      Thanks for the kind words! This recipe is super moisturizing for me all year round. Hope it works for you 🙂 Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to comment 😀

  11. ....RaeDi March 10, 2012 at 11:23 pm #

    I love it and I will be checking out Mountain Rose Herbs, thanks!

  12. lucmg March 13, 2012 at 2:56 pm #

    I will probably HAVE to try this now. And thanks for the tip on Mountain Rose Herbs, looking them up as we speak!

    LUC

  13. calskin March 28, 2012 at 3:32 pm #

    This is really cool.

Leave a Reply

