Image

My Yia Yia Metaxia

22 Feb

My Yia Yia Metaxia

This is a photo of my Yia Yia Metaxia. She would have been 87 years old today if she had not passed away the summer of 2004. She was a strong, funny, loving grandma who taught me all about Greek cooking when she was alive. She inspired me to start working on a cookbook a couple of years ago and I have been working on it ever since. Her name Metaxia means silk in Greek and it is also my middle name. People usually choose Mary or Michelle but are surprised when I tell them the true name and meaning. Then each and everytime I am dubbed Christina Silk, haha. To my Yia Yia I love you, I miss you, and no I have not given up :)—-CMY

6 Responses to “My Yia Yia Metaxia”

  1. ....RaeDi February 22, 2012 at 11:04 pm #

    Beautiful picture and love your middle name… it means that more to you!

  2. mamafritz February 23, 2012 at 7:59 pm #

    lovely name! how fun to have a connection like that to someone you love so much.

  3. braintomahawk March 5, 2012 at 3:51 pm #

    A name and the love for cooking – both great legacies to carry on!

Leave a Reply

