Balsamic Glazed Onions and the Creation of the Best Burger Ever!

12 Feb

       There is just something about balsamic vinegar that just blows the mind. Between its striking dark color and its sweet and tangy flavors balsamic vinegar has become a favorite of food enthusiasts the world over. I have enjoyed it in mixed bean salads, reduced and drizzled over a piece of garlic bread; the list goes on and on. There was one day, though, when balsamic vinegar became the star of one of the greatest burgers I have ever eaten.

It was a normal Saturday and I was grilling up some burgers for the family. I had fried onion rings already for a side dish, but I wasn’t really feeling the normal lettuce and tomato for my burger. So I decided to raid my refrigerator and cupboards for some inspiration. One broken bottle and an avalanche of cans later I found the answer, balsamic vinegar. So what exactly am I going to do with it? I can reduce it and drizzle it over my patty. Nope, that is way too over done; well I have some Spanish onions…ding! I can glaze some sliced onions with the balsamic vinegar!

I got straight to work and here is the recipe for you to enjoy:

 

Balsamic Glazed Onions

Makes 4 servings

2 large onions, it will reduce when it cooks

2 tablespoons Olive oil

½ cup Balsamic Vinegar

Salt/Pepper, to taste

Dried or fresh rosemary, to taste

2 cups Sliced mushrooms (amazing option and combo)

        Slice your onions as thinly as possible and add to a pan. Add olive oil and salt and pepper to your onions and toss well to coat. Add your balsamic vinegar and toss well to coat. Cook your onions tossing frequently over medium to medium high heat until your onions are darkly glazed. There should be minimal to no liquid left in your pan. I f you have thicker pieces of onion it might take a little longer to glaze them. Don’t fret they don’t all have to be perfect. Top burgers with the onions and enjoy. You can also stuff chicken breast with them and some added goat cheese, and even make a pizza replacing the sauce with the onions. The pizza is really good and has become a staple in my house. There are tons of ways these onions can be used, have fun experimenting. Enjoy!

Warning: These onions will be very tangy and strong in flavor, you won’t need to pile on too many to get maximum impact, don’t say I didn’t warn you 😉

      

       I topped my juicy cheeseburger with the glazed onions followed by a mini tower of crispy onion rings.  I took my first bite and I knew that this would not be the last time I made this. It was so good and so different that I had to share it with the family. They enjoyed it so much that they beg me to make it every time I visit. It’s funny how families put you to work when you visit haha. What are you waiting for?  Go get your burger on!

LIKE US ON FACEBOOK! 

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Salt-Pepper-Brilliant/307405782642770?sk=wall

Balsamic Onion Burger (Photograph Property of Salt Pepper Brilliant CMY)

 

 

 

22 Responses to “Balsamic Glazed Onions and the Creation of the Best Burger Ever!”

  1. adamjholland February 12, 2012 at 3:03 pm #

    Balsamic vinegar is so under-appreciated. Those onions look fabulous. You have a new follower!

    • Christina @ Salt Pepper Brilliant February 12, 2012 at 3:10 pm #

      Thanks so much Adam! You should try my recipe when you get the chance, it is great on a bratwurst with spicy mustard too 🙂

  2. andrea drugay February 12, 2012 at 6:01 pm #

    These sound great! I love the idea of stuffing a chicken breast with goat cheese and these onions, or adding to a pizza ~ yum!

  3. jackichan111 February 15, 2012 at 7:27 pm #

    Onions and mushrooms are my favorite combo ever. I can almost taste it right now in my mouth… all with the tang of the balsamic! I’m definitely going to try this soon! 🙂

  4. webmastergirl February 18, 2012 at 1:38 pm #

    Looks delish-I pinned it!

  5. naomiwinters February 18, 2012 at 5:10 pm #

    This looks amazing! I must try this soon!

  6. ....RaeDi February 19, 2012 at 9:04 pm #

    It looks delicious!

  7. thediaryofsugarandspice February 20, 2012 at 12:57 pm #

    Big GIANT yum!! Can’t wait to make this!! 🙂

  8. RecipeAdaptors February 21, 2012 at 2:02 pm #

    Sounds very tasty!

  9. rompau30 February 25, 2012 at 3:36 am #

    sounds really good!! i’ll try it next time i make a burger thanks =]

  10. cookinginsens February 28, 2012 at 1:34 pm #

    Marvelous!

  11. cookinginsens February 28, 2012 at 1:34 pm #

    Super!!

Leave a Reply

