Seasoned Pitas

7 Feb

           Being from a Greek and Puerto Rican family I grew up with the best of both worlds; especially when it comes to food. I get to enjoy arroz con candules (rice and beans) and spanakopita (spinach and feta filo pies) in the same meal haha. However, one of my favorite things to eat is warm pita bread. When I was in high school I kicked the pita bread up a notch by adding some of my favorite seasonings and it soon became a family favorite. I love to eat this on its own or with some tzatziki (yogurt garlic cucumber sauce) and roasted Greek lemon chicken. Yum! 🙂

Seasoned Pita Breads

1 pita bread per person

Salt /Black Pepper                         

Garlic Powder

Olive Oil                                

Thyme

Oregano             

Spanish paprika

Rosemary

Red pepper flakes (optional if you like the heat like I do)

          Preheat your oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit. Drizzle olive oil on pitas and spread around to the edges with either your fingers or the back of a spoon. You only want enough olive oil to give flavor and make a thin pale golden coating on the pitas. I’m a creature of habit so when I make these pitas I add the seasonings in this order—salt, pepper, oregano, garlic powder, Spanish paprika, thyme, and rosemary. I did not add measurements for the seasonings because everyone has different tastes. I know how much I enjoy on my pitas, and soon you will know just how much seasoning suits your tastes. These pitas cook fast since they are already cooked. Cook them on a center rack for only seven minutes, no more and no less. The goal is only to heat them through and get them slightly crisp on the tops and edges. We do not want a cracker; we are in search of pliable seasoned pita breads. These are great as an accompaniment to roasted chicken. They smell, taste and look wonderful since the paprika stains them a rich orange color. Enjoy!

LIKE US ON FACEBOOK!

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Salt-Pepper-Brilliant/307405782642770?sk=wall

Seasoned Pita (Photograph Property of Salt Pepper Brilliant CMY)

24 Responses to “Seasoned Pitas”

  1. Heidi @ homeingreece February 7, 2012 at 10:27 pm #

    this looks great! I love pita bread…. do you make your own? When I started making pita bread I realized that I would never again be able to eat the storebought kind (like so many things, unfortunately!)

    • Christina @ Salt Pepper Brilliant February 7, 2012 at 11:29 pm #

      On occasion I do make my own but we have a friend who makes them for us and sends some over haha. It’s true homemade is always better. Thanks for stopping by 🙂

  2. thebestcaramelslice February 8, 2012 at 8:44 pm #

    I really like the photograph, the depth of field makes for an excellent shot, letting your eyes focus on the key spot.
    I very much like your blog too.
    Thanks for checking out mine and liking my post. 😀

  3. B.Betty February 8, 2012 at 9:11 pm #

    thank you for cheking my blog ! I will deffinetly try this recipe.
    xoxo, Roxana @ Comfy Space

    • Christina @ Salt Pepper Brilliant February 8, 2012 at 10:26 pm #

      Your welcome and thank you for stopping by mine. You really should it is very comforting especially when eaten nice and hot 🙂

  4. Real Life Farm Wife February 10, 2012 at 9:39 pm #

    Thanks for stopping by my blog.

    Your seasoned pita bread recipe sounds wonderful – I hope to try it soon!

  5. Kimbercrafts February 11, 2012 at 3:37 pm #

    This looks incredibly tasty. I love pita bread, and this seasoned version sounds wonderful!

    • Christina @ Salt Pepper Brilliant February 11, 2012 at 4:44 pm #

      Thanks so much it is very good and very versatile. It’s great alone or with some roasted chicken, hope you like it! 🙂

  6. Dew February 11, 2012 at 8:40 pm #

    These look great!

  7. 4plates2table February 11, 2012 at 9:20 pm #

    These would be great with a big schmear of hummus! Yum! They look great!

  8. Vered at EatNowTalkLater February 12, 2012 at 10:22 am #

    That looks and sounds delicious! Thanks for stopping by my blog.

  9. the sweet style February 12, 2012 at 4:02 pm #

    looks yummy!

  10. priscillamtizwa February 12, 2012 at 9:18 pm #

    I love Pita!! Will definitely try:)

  11. the Jilb February 15, 2012 at 3:15 pm #

    Oooh, yummy! That looks great.

  12. webmastergirl February 18, 2012 at 1:39 pm #

    I love this one too! It would be an easy alternative to bread or biscuits with dinner. Can’t wait to try it!

Leave a Reply

