The City Girl Falls for the Country

4 Feb

       When I was finishing up my freshman year in high school, my parents gave me some shocking news. We were moving and not just to another neighborhood in Brooklyn but to northeastern Pennsylvania. After talking about moving to NEPA my entire life my parents were making the leap to change what had been our summer home to our permanent residence.  I was not happy about this move. I would be taken away from my best friends and my independence (since there is no public transportation). Not to mention all of the (hushed voice) nature.

       When living in the city you really aren’t exposed to much of what nature has to offer unless you go to one of the parks. When I did go to Prospect Park in Brooklyn well, I just didn’t like it. There were bugs and grass it was just not for me. I was used to concrete sidewalks with potted plants. When we moved to NEPA, however, it was like moving to the Amazon jungle. There were lots of trees, rocks, grass, and worse lots of bugs. Yet I found that as the years went by I started to let nature into my life.

       I began to slow down to watch some fluffy white clouds roll by. I began to watch the bees pass from flower to flower covered in pollen doing their duty. Then it hit me how unnatural growing up being afraid of nature is. From then on I set out to learn all that I could. I learned about the native animals, plants, and then I began gardening. At first I bought potted herbs from the local store but I wanted to grow more than that. So I set off on an internet search to find my perfect supplier. To my delight I found Burgess Seed and Plant Company. They had everything from seeds to trees. From then on I was hooked and have been learning how to grow and care for vegetables, fruits, and trees.

       I fell in love with the miracle of nature. I fell in love with how from one seed I can get a towering heirloom tomato plant. The first year I bought way too much and most of the plants died. Excitement had gotten the best of me. So I chose some vegetable seeds and a dwarf lime tree the following year. I have had this lime tree for three years now and it began to give me limes last summer. Even if you live in the city I suggest you get some seeds you can easily raise a tomato plant indoors and a dwarf lime, lemon, or orange tree would do well as well. Just bring the tree indoors during the winter, and let it get full sun and fresh air during the summer and it will be fine.

So check this site out and explore. Something is bound to catch your eye.

http://www.eburgess.com/

Citrus Collection

http://www.eburgess.com/detail.asp?pid=1606&nav=tre

This whole winter season I will be posting photos of my NEPA summers to keep the warmth alive 🙂

LIKE US ON FACEBOOK!

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Salt-Pepper-Brilliant/307405782642770?sk=wall

Brugess Seed and Plant Co. 2012 Catalogue (Photo property of Salt Pepper Brilliant CMY)

 

 

   

14 Responses to “The City Girl Falls for the Country”

  1. hricjd February 4, 2012 at 4:07 pm #

    many paths to the same wild place. and that wild place is scattered all over, even in the heart of them cities

    • Christina February 4, 2012 at 4:09 pm #

      Very true now I am at home in both settings and it feels good 🙂

  2. Dew February 4, 2012 at 5:31 pm #

    I’m moving back to NYC in August and have thought, time and again, about how I can start growing my own vegetables and herbs. I didn’t realize I could grow tomatoes and oranges indoors!

    🙂

    • Christina February 4, 2012 at 5:36 pm #

      Sure you can but they need a little extra tlc. Every now and then take a damp rag or paper towel and rub the leaves of your plant because being indoors dust will start to accumulate on the leaves. The citrus plants will need a spray every now and then with water and keep them well hydrated. Nice that you are coming back to the city have a fun move 🙂

  3. tryityoumightlikeit February 4, 2012 at 7:51 pm #

    Okay, now I want a lime tree at my house. That would be so awesome. Thanks for visiting my blog. I look forward to learning some more about growing from you.

  4. photosfromtheloonybin February 5, 2012 at 8:43 pm #

    I’m a city girl turned country too, and I would never move back to the city. There’s nothing like country living!

    • Christina @ Salt Pepper Brilliant February 5, 2012 at 8:57 pm #

      I actually split my time between both since I need the city for work. But yes the country is excellent. It would be too much to stay away from it for too long 🙂

  5. Sharon February 6, 2012 at 3:42 pm #

    Here I just wrote a blog post saying I wished I had a green house so I could grow some limes! I guess I don’t need a green house after all! If you can do it in Pennsylvania, I’m sure it’ll work in Virginia. Thanks for the encouragement. And for the tips on keeping the plants hydrated indoors. Limes are such an exciting prospect!

    • Christina @ Salt Pepper Brilliant February 6, 2012 at 3:46 pm #

      Nice! Your very welcome yes they do well indoors the second it is consistently warm outside I put them outdoors. They love that sun:)

  6. notesfromrumbleycottage February 7, 2012 at 7:35 pm #

    I had been thinking about putting a jasmine tree in my bedroom. Perhaps this is the inspiration needed.

  7. belladaze February 12, 2012 at 4:55 pm #

    I’m glad you found my blog earlier today and left a comment – thank you! This post of yours reminds me of an experience last fall that I forgot to write about! While visiting a dahlia farm I was privileged to receive a private encounter with the founder’s citrus collection. Victoria, the beautiful adult daughter who assists at the farm sent me home with a giant 5 pound Ponderosa Lemon and a tiny variegated lemon that was a beautiful pink inside! I’ve got to locate those photos and write about these gorgeous fruits!

Leave a Reply

