Giving the baked potato a seriously delicious makeover…yum!

30 Jan

       Ah, the baked potato in its sour cream and cheddar cheese topped glory. It is an American staple that is simply delicious, but what if you gave this quick lunch a makeover? One day I was craving a baked potato really badly. After seeing my father on my most recent visit have a baked potato every day for lunch I was really craving a spud.  However, I wasn’t really in the mood for the same old baked potato toppings. I wanted something exciting; something to really make the culinary angels sing. So I grabbed my bag and set my sites on the grocery store.

       The second I arrive I make my way to the cheese case. Now when it comes to cheese I am not picky. I don’t discriminate against any of these dairy delights, but I wanted something I don’t usually stock in my kitchen. There it was a wheel of triple cream goat cheese brie, what a beauty. So what can I have with this brie? Honey would be nice, but I’m not really seeing honey in my baked potato future. Then it hits me, dates! They would be perfect for my delicious experiment. Now I only hoped this store carried dates, and to my complete and utter joy they did.

       The second I arrived home I went to work, and so should you (hehe):

Date and Brie Stuffed Bake Potato

(AKA Best lunch ever!)

 

A potato per person medium to large in size

A wedge or a wheel of brie cheese

Dried dates, soaked in a little warm water so they can soften a bit

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees F. Scrub and rinse your potatoes, leave the skins on. Prick your potatoes all over with a fork and wrap in foil. Bake your potatoes for one hour. Let them cool slightly then cut them lengthwise down the center without breaking the bottom skin. Season them lightly with salt and pepper. Now take a fork and stir up the flesh of the potato slightly. This will let all of the brie melt into all of the crevices.

        Add as much cheese as you like, and then add the dates. I leave them whole but you can chop them if you like. Close the potato around your filling and rewrap in the foil and place back into the oven until the cheese melts. I usually leave it in for about ten minutes. When finished unwrap and enjoy.

 

       This is one of my favorite things to eat for lunch. The melting oozing brie with its salty goodness, coupled with the rich honey flavor of the dates is amazing. When I first came up with this combo (I’m not going to lie) I ate this for lunch three days in a row. It is just that good. Try it out for yourself and tell me how you like it! —-CMY

LIKE US ON FACEBOOK!

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Salt-Pepper-Brilliant/307405782642770?sk=wall

Date and Brie Stuffed Baked Potato (Property of Salt Pepper Brilliant CMY)

      

43 Responses to “Giving the baked potato a seriously delicious makeover…yum!”

  1. secretmatilda January 30, 2012 at 9:07 pm #

    Wow, great idea! I have never had a date, but I do like potatoes and a nice soft brie on a crusty piece of bread.

    • Christina January 30, 2012 at 9:18 pm #

      Thanks so much! Dates are really delicious. If you like honey and molasses type flavors you will like dates. They are also great in cookies and bars as well. I’m glad you liked my post and thanks for stopping by 🙂

  2. Simply Tia January 30, 2012 at 9:28 pm #

    Ahhhhh! I want this baked potato and LOVE this idea!

    • Christina January 30, 2012 at 9:30 pm #

      Thanks so much! Try it as soon as you can it is too good to pass up 🙂

  3. notesfromrumbleycottage January 31, 2012 at 1:58 am #

    Not big potato fan (especially since the husband prefers instant) but this is one I want to try.

    • Christina January 31, 2012 at 2:19 am #

      Great hope you like it 🙂

  4. When Harry Met Celery January 31, 2012 at 6:44 am #

    Brie and potato sounds like an amazing combination. This one is such a treat! Thank you for dropping by my blog.

    • Christina January 31, 2012 at 3:29 pm #

      Your very welcome and thank you for doing the same 🙂

  5. creativenoshing January 31, 2012 at 4:45 pm #

    Seriously, goat cheese brie and dates…. Genius!

    • Christina January 31, 2012 at 9:19 pm #

      Why thank you very much definitely try it when you get the chance it is heaven 🙂

  6. andy1076 January 31, 2012 at 5:44 pm #

    You had me at sour cream and baked potato, then you kicked it up a notch with Brie! nice! lol 🙂

    • Christina January 31, 2012 at 9:20 pm #

      Haha that’s right we do it up here 😉

      • andy1076 January 31, 2012 at 11:47 pm #

        Delicious carbs here i come! LOL

  7. Karen January 31, 2012 at 10:36 pm #

    I love baked potatoes and your recipe sounds delicious. Thanks for stopping by my blog so that I could discover yours.

    • Christina January 31, 2012 at 10:41 pm #

      Thank you Karen 🙂

  8. foodsventures January 31, 2012 at 11:04 pm #

    Mmm your recipe sound delicious!!! Have you tried double baked potatoes?!

    • Christina January 31, 2012 at 11:06 pm #

      No I haven’t but will get right on that haha 🙂

  9. AndreaSomething February 1, 2012 at 1:43 am #

    Anything with brie MUST be good – this looks delicious! I definitely am going to try this (I already know the boyfriend is going to try to sneak some bacon in on top…haha). Thanks for the recipe!

    • Christina February 1, 2012 at 4:48 pm #

      You’re very welcome and bacon on top does sound great 🙂

  10. gloriastartover February 1, 2012 at 5:10 pm #

    OMG, that sounds absolutely delicious. Thanks for the inspiration. Would never have thought of using dates.

    • Christina February 1, 2012 at 5:22 pm #

      You’re so welcome I’m happy that my little baked potato inspired you 🙂

  11. Amanda February 1, 2012 at 6:50 pm #

    My husband and I have a joke that I love, crave, and get lots of energy from eating potatoes because I’m Irish. 🙂 I like potatoes in almost any form.

    • Christina February 1, 2012 at 7:03 pm #

      I love potatoes in any form as well but I’m not Irish I guess just at heart and stomach haha 😉

  12. chelseamack February 1, 2012 at 8:34 pm #

    Brilliant. Absolutely brilliant.

    • Christina February 1, 2012 at 9:02 pm #

      Why thank you 🙂

  13. pretty yummy things February 1, 2012 at 9:14 pm #

    this looks amazing!!

    • Christina February 1, 2012 at 9:27 pm #

      Thanks try it as soon as you can 🙂

  14. Dew February 2, 2012 at 2:53 pm #

    wow this sounds and looks delicious!

    • Christina February 2, 2012 at 3:28 pm #

      Thanks so much and thanks for stopping by 🙂

  15. courtneyduncan February 2, 2012 at 7:05 pm #

    Oh Wowzers! Looks amazing!

    • Christina February 2, 2012 at 7:07 pm #

      Haha thanks very much you should definitely give it a try 🙂

  16. Gabriella February 3, 2012 at 12:07 pm #

    This sounds like a killer combination!! Yummy!

    • Christina February 3, 2012 at 1:46 pm #

      It really is, thanks for stopping by 🙂

  17. The Dexterity February 4, 2012 at 4:21 pm #

    loved the recipe..i literally drooled seeing the pic 🙂 awesome!!

    • Christina February 4, 2012 at 4:23 pm #

      Thanks so much it really is a delicious meal 🙂

  18. Assia February 7, 2012 at 1:04 am #

    Looks delicious and very creative – dates and brie – mm. Thank you for stopping by my blog!

  19. whitepaperroses February 11, 2012 at 3:33 pm #

    this looks so good! very tempted to give it a try. thanks for coming to my blog 🙂

    • Christina @ Salt Pepper Brilliant February 11, 2012 at 4:42 pm #

      You’re very welcome and thank you for doing the same. You should definitely give it a try, a treat every now and then won’t hurt 😉

  20. carinaragno February 13, 2012 at 3:57 pm #

    drooling here 🙂
    thank you, sounds good

  21. Choc Chip Uru February 19, 2012 at 8:56 am #

    Wow you should be a makeover artist and have your own show – potatoes have never looked so savoury 😀
    YUM!

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

Leave a Reply

