Must-Save-Skin-From-Winter!!!!

28 Jan

       I hate winter! Being born in July I love summer and all it has to offer. Summer has the best weather, my birthday ;), and when I was in school summer vacation. What could be better? But I digress; this is about winter and the havoc it causes. While there are many bones I have to pick with winter the worst one is the fact that my skin takes a beating.

       The dryness coupled with the cold is torture, and the creams that are offered at the store are just not cutting it. I have tried lotions, balms, creams, medicated cream I stole from my sister 😉 and still no positive results. I finally remembered that I had a sample of 100% Organic Shea Butter from L’Occitane somewhere in my room. After tearing the place up for 30 minutes I finally found it. This had to help, I prayed it would help. It was thick and cold so I took a small amount and rubbed it between my two fingers to warm it up. Then I spread it all over the back of my alligator skin hand. It was heaven, I felt it soak in and I could actually clench my hand without my skin splitting. (Yes it gets that bad)

       Needless to say I loved it. So I race to my computer to buy the full size of this product. I found it at Sephora and to my horror it is so expensive. For the full 4.9oz it will set me back $39. I was devastated. Looking down at my poor hands I knew I couldn’t give up so I went searching once again and I found two possible places to help me. They are From Nature with Love and the Organic Shea Butter Company.

       From Nature with Love is an excellent and well stocked site. They have everything from oils, butters, exfoliants, clays and muds, and a blog equipped with great recipes. For someone who is into making beauty products at home this site is excellent. They also offer equipment and packaging for your entire beauty product making needs. Not only that they have an organic Shea butter for only $28.80 for 16oz. Yaaay!! Next up is the Organic Shea Butter Company. They offer plain Shea butter and three other Shea butters with the added oils of grape fruit, lavender, and mint. I will stick with the plain butter at only $22.99 per 18oz on sale and $26.98 regular price. I will be on the lookout for more great places, so I will keep you posted. I hope you find this helpful, follow the links below to your perfect moisturizer. —-CMY

 

100% Organic Shea Butter from L’Occitane $$$

http://sephora.com/browse/product.jhtml?id=P39675&categoryId=C11831

From Nature with Love $$

https://www.fromnaturewithlove.com/soap/product.asp?product_id=BUTNILOTICA

The Organic Shea Butter Company $

(Other than being able to purchase their butter online you can also find them at Walgreens in the Houston, TX area)

 
LIKE US ON FACEBOOK!
 

L'Occitane 100% Organic Shea Butter (Photo property of Salt Pepper Brilliant CMY)

12 Responses to “Must-Save-Skin-From-Winter!!!!”

  1. theketchupchronicles January 28, 2012 at 3:21 pm #

    great post! I’ve heart cetaphil moisturizers are amazing for dry skin.. maybe give that a try too??

    • Christina January 28, 2012 at 4:07 pm #

      Sounds good thanks for the advice and thanks for the compliment 🙂

  2. trialsinfood January 28, 2012 at 6:04 pm #

    i have the same problems with my hands. i use the l’occitane dry skin hand cream with 20% shea butter. it works great, but it’s pricy! i’ll look into the alternatives you suggested. thanks!

    • Christina January 28, 2012 at 7:02 pm #

      Your very welcome 🙂

  3. kellie @ foodtoglow January 28, 2012 at 9:59 pm #

    I get ultra-dry hands (with sore cracked knuckles) here in chilly Scotland so I am always slathering on the hand cream before bed. I do have L’Occitane shea butter cream but haven’t used it lately. I shall give it another go. Mostly I use something bizarre sounding that has been the budget-priced darling of the UK beauty press off and on for awhile – Waitrose’s Bottom Butter! It is an organic, 4 ingredient emollient ostensibly for babies but ‘yummy mummies’ buy it up in their droves. It is always selling out. Smells like pancakes!

    • Christina January 29, 2012 at 3:58 am #

      Yea I’m suffering from cracked knuckles at the moment I’m waiting to order my shea and cocoa butter because the shea is out of stock. Bizarre name or not if it works use it haha. Scotland I would love to get myself out there one day. Thanks so much for stopping by 🙂

  4. Alice January 30, 2012 at 1:38 am #

    I can totally relate! Can’t stand that dry skin feeling! My baby has eczema and I have used some shea butter with frankincense and myrrh on him (which I’ve found in the baby section at the drugstore). It did help – now I’m thinking I should try that on my hands 🙂 Thanks for the tips!

    • Christina January 30, 2012 at 1:24 pm #

      Your very welcome hope it works for you, fingers crossed:)

  5. needtotaste January 30, 2012 at 6:56 pm #

    Hey, glad you recommended that site, I’ve just started moisturizing with straight olive oil. I want to rid my bathroom closet of bottles and use more natural skin and hair products! Thanks and cheers!

    • Christina January 30, 2012 at 7:01 pm #

      You’re very welcome natural is the way to go. We want to eat well but we forget about what we are slathering all over our bodies. I’m glad you liked my post 🙂

  6. immrskeller February 2, 2012 at 7:50 pm #

    Thanks for this tip! I love the L’Occitane but it is pricy. It lasts a long time but it’s still good to know there are more affordable alternatives. I’ve been known to zap a chunk of the 100% shea in the microwave for 3-4 seconds to soften it up so it rubs in easier. Thanks for checking out my blog, I’ll be keeping up with yours!

    • Christina February 2, 2012 at 7:51 pm #

      Why thanks so much I’m glad you found my post helpful 🙂

Leave a Reply

