A Review: The Great Gatsby

19 May

the-great-gatsby-2013

What a night! After taking my sister to an interview and stuffing ourselves with copious amounts of delicious Italian delights I decided that we should go to the movies. There was only one movie I had in mind…The Great Gatsby. Now I hadn’t been to the movies in a long time. To be honest I was fed up with hollywood and its recycling of actors and unoriginal tasteless films. However there was something different about this film so I decided I’m out and about so let us see how this will pan out. (Rhyming unintentional :))

So we arrive at the theater for the 9:45pm showing and to  my delight the theater was pretty much empty. We sit there with the smell of popcorn and the fizzy sounds of soda as the previews spring to life on the screen. I sit there in anticipation and hope that my money will be well spent. The lights suddenly dim and the theater is dark. The screen is now glowing with golden designs and soft music fills my ears. For the next 150 minutes I am taken on a roller coaster ride of love, lust, obsession betrayal, finally tragedy.

 The Great Gatsby: A Break Down

Now this isn’t going to be too much of a story breakdown because I don’t want to give too much away but I will do my best to convey to you what I had experienced.

  1. Visual Styling/Wardrobe: The Great Gatsby was a visual masterpiece. Every frame was nothing but beautiful eye candy of every color and shade. Light scenes or dark it was so stunning in its styling I didn’t want to blink fearing I would miss something. The costumes from the normal everyday outfit to those worn to J. Gatsby’s extravagant weekend parties were absolutely stunning. The styling of the atmosphere from actual sets to those scenes aided by computer graphics were also completely beautiful. From start to finish you are drawn in and immersed into a world of excess and fantasy that actually helped you along in the story line. After all this was the time of excess, whether it was from drinking, money flaunting, or too much pleasure of the flesh.  5 STAR RATING *****
  2. Sound Track: For me the sound track for a film is super super important. I can not stress this enough. It sets the tone for every scene conveying and amplifying the emotion of the actors. For a lot of the film the music was actually modern hip hop music heavy on the rap stylings of Jay-Z. Now I like hip hop, but this for me is when the movie tanked. I had a hard time connecting to the film because the music was distracting and for me did not in any way fit the film. It felt as if what I was seeing on screen and what was playing along with it were battling  one another (all I could think of at those times was hot mess…yikes!).  As a side note I felt the film that did the modern music sound track well was actually Marie Antoinette with Kirsten Dunst even though the story line was lacking. There was only one scene in the entire Gatsby film where I enjoyed this different soundtrack approach. The most famous of the sound track songs “Young and Beautiful” by Lana Del Rey actually saved this film for me musical wise. I absolutely adore this song and Lana’s unique voice. I enjoyed the fact that this song made its appearance several times in the film but in many different presentations. It was presented in an era appropriate way at a faster pace during a Gatsby party, then in its original form, and then in another scene it was no more than a whisper. I honestly couldn’t help singing this song when it played. But don’t worry I was pretty quiet as not to disturb the other movie goers. Please enjoy the song below. 3 STAR RATING ***
  3. The Acting Performances: Now me actually having acting experience I am always looking for that “It” performance. When I saw that this film starred Mr. Leonardo DiCaprio I was a bit skeptical. I have followed his career since he was young and I was never really impressed with his performances. I always thought though that he was often holding back (not hating on Leo at all by the way). I look for a complete loss of self and I feel that Leo exceeded my expectation as the Great J.Gatsby. He was strong yet vulnerable, mild-mannered then a flurry of emotions. He made me feel his pain. He truly was this movie and not just because he was the title character on paper. The rest of the troubled cast performed exceptionally well also. They were rich, wild, naive and I hated them and loved them all in one breath. 5 STAR RATING *****
  4. The Story Line: Let’s make this simple and sweet, shall we? J. Gatsby is a mysterious rich man living on the bay in Long Island NY in a huge mansion. Every weekend the people of New York city show up uninvited to the Gatsby estate for a roaring party that Gatsby hosts in order to get the attention of none other than a lost love named Daisy (Carry Mulligan) who lives across the bay with her super wealthy cheating husband. Gatsby and Daisy were in love before Gatsby was sent off to war and since Gatsby’s return home was delayed Daisy married her now husband. The narrator of this story is Nick Caraway (Toby Maguire). Who happens to be Daisy’s cousin and who also happens to live right next to Gatsby’s towering home. Nick sets up a meeting of the two long-lost lovers at Gatsby’s request and this is when the true story begins and then begins to unravel. Rendezvous of love that turns into lust and obsession. The hopes and dreams that get shattered lead to lives that will forever be changed. By the end you will realize whose love and loyalty ran the deepest and you will witness the true betrayal of the whole film. All in all this movie was excellent but it was definitely depressing . I would rank it along the lines of  Moulin Rouge and Atonement in its suffering. I will award this film only four stars for the story line because I will most likely never watch it again. One hundred and fifty minutes of such sadness is too much to do over again. But I’m glad I did it once. 4 STAR RATING ****

OVERALL RATING OF 4.25 STARS

I hope you enjoyed my first movie interview! Thank you all so much for supporting Salt Pepper Brilliant <33333333333333

***************I do not own any of the music, videos, stills, photography in this post.******************

2 Responses to “A Review: The Great Gatsby”

  1. Vanesther June 2, 2013 at 6:36 am #

    Despite the sadness, I can’t wait to see this!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 206 other followers

